When I have free time…

­­In the last 9 months my life has gone from being on pause to going (what feels like) a billion miles per hour. I no longer spend days in front on the TV, sleeping or even shopping- massive weakness of mine! Now I spend my time in what can sometimes feel like an ongoing cycle of meetings & blogging! To be honest I wouldn’t change it… much. I’m so excited with the work I do, that it makes a difference to those who live it and those who had little idea about what it can be like living with a disability.

But what’s different when it comes to having fun when you’re stuck on wheels? Let me tell you, everything is different, and not always in a bad way. What do I like to do for fun? Let me tell you…

I go to concerts (and lots of them)

This is probably the coolest thing to do when you have a disability. I’ve have been to see so many shows I have lost count – Beyonce, Justin Timberlake, Lady Gaga, Kanye West (insert judging comments below) I’ve seen so many people live. And why is this so cool? The perks. Many venues, particularly the big ones will have special platforms. Now, some of these seats will be at the front and most others will also be central to the stage so you’re (almost) guaranteed a great view all the time! You have to be pretty quick with buying the tickets though, they are limited and you do have to phone… I’ll save that ridiculous process for another post!

My favourite venue has to be the O2 Arena. It’s the biggest (50,000 people) venue and you can go for some grub at the O2 before you enter the arena 🙂

Justin Timberlake

Justin Timberlake

 

Beyonce Time!

Beyonce Time!

I shop

Like many females I like to shop – but as much as I like it, this does come with problems, particularly when it comes to shop layout. Many shops won’t always take into account the extra need for space but sometimes due to the impracticalities of queuing in some shops, sometimes you can jump the queue – this is an absolute blessing in Primark! If there ever is any difficulty in any shop you visit i.e access isn’t great, then the shop assistant should try to make your experience as seamless as possible, even if this means bringing various items of stock for you to look at. You have the power- use it! I sure do!

I walk the dog

Anyone who follows me on Instagram will know that I have a little puppy called Ruby. One of my favorite things to do is to take my little lady on a nice big walk! Whether this be to the park around the corner from me or hopping in the car for an exciting new adventure, Ruby loves walkies! This is us on the Isle of Wight!

Isle of Wight

Isle of Wight

 

Ruby has been a great way for me to get out of the house for relatively no money. Ruby has made lots of doggy friends in the short time I’ve had her and meeting new people is always fun. When you’re walking a dog, 9 times out 10 you’re bound to bump into a friendly new face. Seeing Ruby’s little legs move like there is no tomorrow is equally fun too!

Walkies Time

Walkies Time

 

A little tip…

If you want to walk a dog when you are in a wheelchair then research your location first. I know this goes for any attraction you are thinking of going to, but Google is simply your best friend when it comes to arranging a day out. You can have an idea of what to expect rather than being disappointed when you get there. (this has happened a lot in the past!)

And when it’s a ‘stay at home’ day…

(Copyright Disney)

I like nothing better than to watch a bit of TV (usually anything on Channel 4) or watch a good comedy or Disney movie!

So that’s me!

Until Next Time

HollyBea 

 

Leave a Reply

