A thank you to my dog.

IMG_5666

Dogs are known as “man’s best friend” and my little fluff is no exception. This week the tiny little puppy I brought home has turned 3. Writing this I imagine this sense of pride, love and exhaustion is what parents of actual human beings feel every day.

The decision to bring a dog into my life admittedly was a complete impulse one but I don’t regret that choice one bit, (maybe a little bit at 5am).

People who aren’t dog lovers just don’t understand why people want to have everything they own covered in fur, or being woken by whining everyday but the answer toI that is so simple. LOVE.

Ruby loves me when I don’t love myself. She doesn’t care when I don’t look my best, or when I don’t want to talk to anyone. Dogs don’t care if you make a mistake. They still see you as the best person ever.

No judgement and no grudges.

The excitement of your dog every time you come home is priceless. it’s the best part of my day. Wet kisses and wagging tails makes my heart melt every single time.

I often joke and wish people were more like dogs but I don’t think I’m joking anymore. Imagine if we all saw the best in each other and rather than worrying about what should be doing, we all did what makes us happy?

I’m not always the most positive or inspiring person that some people think I am but the best thing about having Ruby is when I do feel like everything is too much, I can watch Ruby bounce around the park after her ball and think there’s more to life than austerity, disability, assignments and care teams.

IMG_5199

So to my little fluff who is currently in the land of nod,

Thank you for making me smile even when I don’t feel like smiling.

I truly love you.

IMG_5344

Leave a Reply

